Three -Dimensions of the NGSS

What are the Three Dimensions of the Next Generation Science Standards?

The foundation of the NGSS standards is a three-dimensional system of learning that includes Scientific and Engineering Practices, Crosscutting Concepts, and Disciplinary Core Ideas.

1. Scientific and Engineering Practices

The practice and methodologies of real-life scientists and engineers.

  • Defining Problems and Asking Questions

  • Developing and Using Models

  • Planning and Carrying Out Investigations

  • Analyzing and Interpreting Data

  • Using Mathematics and Computational Thinking

  • Constructing Explanations and Designing Solutions

  • Engaging in Argument from Evidence

2. Cross Cutting Concepts

Ideas that overlap across multiple branches of science and engineering.

  • Cause and Effect: the idea that one process is responsible for another

  • Patterns: a framework for understanding and analyzing repetition

  • Systems and System Models: Organizing Principles

  • Similarity and Diversity: commonalities and discrepancies across disciplines

  • Scale, Proportion, Quantity: understanding size and growth

  • Energy and Matter: the study of physical substance and how things work

  • Structure and Function: principles of design and engineering

  • Stability and Change: the study of equilibrium and evolution

3. Disciplinary Core Ideas

The four overarching science and engineering subjects deemed most crucial for post-secondary life.

  • Physical Science

  • Life Science

  • Earth and Space Sciences

  • Engineering, Technology, and Application